Becoming a Licensed Provider
Becoming a Licensed Family Child Care Provider is an exciting career move which offers you the opportunity
to be at home with your own children, and to provide appropriate care and guidance for other children in your
community. Licensed Family Child Care Providers can earn income for their families while providing an
invaluable service for the community. The process takes time and planning is the key to success as you
consider everything from policies and procedures to ordering supplies and setting up your child care
Prior to applying for a Family Child Care Home License
For Cheyenne, Kiowa and Lincoln Counties Contact:
Cheyenne, Kiowa, Lincoln Early Childhood Council (CKLECC) at 719-775-9728 or email@example.com
Visit the Colorado Office of Early Childhood website for full details on the application process including
links to the application packet, fingerprint cards, licensing fees, and background check information.
Ready to pursue becoming licensed? CKLECC is here to assist as your Child Care Resource and Referral Agency!
To request a child care licensing application packet, for Pre-Licensing Training dates, information on financial assistance availability, or general questions please contact:
CKLECC Coordinator Julie Witt, at
Exemptions from 15 hours of Pre-Licensing Training:
All persons with a State of Colorado Director Certification, 2 year or 4 year degree IN Early Childhood
Education are exempt from Pre-licensing training but must have Standard Precautions and Medication
Administration, and current CPR/First Aid certification.
New Child Care Licensing Laws Effective August 9, 2017
Two new child care licensing laws went into effect August 9, 2017. These are changes to state statute, and are
NOT a result of updates to child care licensing rules.
Portability of Background Checks for Child Care WorkersHouse Bill 17-1135 made Trails background
checks portable between child care or preschool locations operated by the same governing body, similar to
Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) checks.
Accessibility of Exempt Family Child CareSenate Bill 17-110 increased the number of unrelated children a
home-based caregiver can watch without obtaining a child care license from the Colorado Department of
Human Services, Office of Early Childhood. The change allows a home-based child care provider to care for
four (4) or fewer children ages birth to 18 years old and no more than two (2) of the children are under the age
of two (2) years old. The children are not required to be related to each other or to the caregiver. If the provider
is caring for their own children, their children is included in the four (4) children limit.
Like us on Facebook